Going Blondies – White Chocolate and Blueberry Blondies

White Chocolate Blueberry Blondies

I was thinking the other day that I always seem to make brownies, this is not surprising considering my long love affair with chocolate. However, I have seen a couple of recipes recently for Blondies.

So, I have finally been enticed to try the Brownies more anemic looking cousin. Well, I love them! Especially warm from the oven. This version has white chocolate, dried blueberries and orange zest that made them delicious. I had two at tea and a taste earlier! They are seriously moreish.

I’d like to think that they are less rich than my Brownies, but they’re not really. At least they were balanced out by a healthy carrot cake – guess what disappeared fastest…

Anyway these are a sure winner so please give them a try. The recipe comes from Eve magazine. I found dried blueberries at the Wellness Centre on Kloof St. I have seen them in other health stores too.

Prep time 20 min
Bake time 20 min
Makes 25

Ingredients
250g white chocolate chopped
150g butter
3 medium eggs
100g castor sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
200g self-raising flour
75g dried cranberries
75g dried blueberries
Zest of 1 orange
Icing sugar for dusting

Method
1) Preheat the oven to 180° C or 160° C fan forced, grease and line a 25cm square brownie tin.
2) Melt 150g of the chocolate and the butter in a bowl set over a pot of barely simmering water (to form a bain-marie). Melt together till smooth. Remove from the heat and allow to cool slightly.
3) In a separate bowl beat the eggs with the sugar until thick and pale. Stir in the vanilla.
4) Add the melted chocolate mixture and beat until combined. Fold in the sieved flour followed by the remaining chocolate and fruit. Stir until well combined.
5) Pour into the prepared tin and bake for 30 minutes until firm and golden.
6) Allow to cool. Cut into squares and dust with icing sugar

About michoenglish87

A wannabe foodie who loves trying new recipes and trying new ingredients. I hope to inspire people to try new things in the kitchen.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Going Blondies – White Chocolate and Blueberry Blondies

  1. Tandy says:

    white chocolate is far richer than dark 🙂

Leave a comment