The Biscuit Mill

Freshly baked goods at the Biscuit Mill

Freshly baked goods at the Biscuit Mill

People are hustling and busting and I am struck by the heady scent of freshly brewed coffee- is there any more evocative scent? There are spices and the smell of frying onions on the air promising good things to come. Right at the entrance is the flower stall with a vast array of spring flowers, irises, proteas, roses, poppies and freesia create a colorful display of welcome. This is Cape Town’s premier foodie destination, the Neighborhood Goods Market at the Old Biscuit Mill in Woodstock. Its one of my favorite foodie places to visit.

Wonderful Cheese at the Biscuit Mill

Wonderful Cheese at the Biscuit Mill

This food market may not have much on what is on offer overseas, or so I am told – I’ve yet to find out though its on my to do list! I enjoy going to the market, especially if you can manage to get there a bit earlier before the crowds really get bad. I love exploring all the stalls.

Flowers at the entrance to the Biscuit Mill

Flowers at the entrance to the Biscuit Mill

My favorites have to be the Belgian stand which sells thick waffles and decadent looking tarts. I have to say they look divine, promising the world, but I’ve been let down on the flavor front. I had a good laugh at the proprietor who was putting on a show, miming to the Beatles song that was playing over the radio. Complete with jazzy dance moves, kicks and spatula waving, how could one not love that king of enthusiasm?

Decadent Desserts

Decadent Desserts

There are many different kinds of cuisine on offer through the back, from Chinese to huge Spanish paellas, sushi and fresh seafood; just about any craving can be met. This is definitely somewhere you want to visit hungry and with a full wallet! It can be a bit pricy, but there are some gems around. I bought some fantastic Oyster Mushrooms and Enoki from the Funki Fungi stand, which also sells delicious mushroom skewers. I tried a delicious and feather light raisin Danish, and bought some Ras el Hanut which I am dying to try.

Roast Tomato and Caramalised Balsamic Onion Tarts

Roast Tomato and Caramalised Balsamic Onion Tarts

I always enjoy my visits. Some of my friends are put off by the crowds and the lack of parking. The car guards charge exorbitant prices for looking after your car R 20 is ridiculous! But I felt obligated to pay as the guy was rather menacing. The parking should be free, and its voluntary what we give them. Yet here they fight over territory and demand these prices that we all seem to be paying. That was the only dampener on my day.

The Neighbourhood Goods Market takes place every Saturday Morning at the Old Biscuit Mill in Woodstock Cape Town.

About michoenglish87

A wannabe foodie who loves trying new recipes and trying new ingredients. I hope to inspire people to try new things in the kitchen.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Biscuit Mill

  1. Apart from the lack of parking, guards and crowds – I WANT TO GO TO THE NEIGHBOURHOOD GOODS MARKET AT THE BISCUIT MILL! I have no problem going early to miss the crowds. I must remember this for if and when I ever get to Cape Town.
    Have a super day.
    🙂 Mandy

  2. Tandy says:

    We usually park a few blocks away – and I don’t mind paying for the pleasure, as long as my car is there when I get back! I wish we had the same market close to us 🙂

Leave a Reply

