Fruity Orange Muffins

Fruity-Orange-Muffins

Fruity Orange Muffins

I love muffins as they are so easy to make. When I was at university in Grahamstown, I used to sometimes treat myself to something from the Home baked store, and one of my favorites were the fruity orange muffins. So I decided to create my own version. Sadly I lost that recipe, so this week I set out to approximate it, and what I came up with was pretty close. These are light and fruity, and to be honest I could scarf the whole batch no problem over a few days. I especially love these on a rainy day like today with a good cup of milky chai tea.

A twelve hole muffin tray. This recipe only makes nine muffins though if you want a decent sized muffin! These proportions seem to work and I’d just double the recipe!

A tip: I forgot to do this, but put the dried fruit in a bowl, dampen slightly with a teaspoon of water and mix in a tablespoon of flour. This will coat the fruit and make sure that it is evenly distributed through the muffins instead of all at the bottom!

Ingredients:

1 cup of cake flour

2 tsp of baking powder

½ tsp salt

½ cup of sugar

¼ cup of milk

¼ cup of orange juice

¼ cup of melted butter

The zest of an orange

¾  of a cup of cake mix dried fruit

¼ teaspoon of orange extract

Method:

Preheat the oven to 180°C, 160°C fan forced.

Sift the flour and baking powder into a bowl, add the sugar and stir. In a separate bowl or a jug beat together the egg, milk, orange juice and orange extract. Add the liquid ingredients to the dry ingredients in the bowl and stir a couple of times, add the fruit mix and orange zest. Mix till it just comes together. Mix quickly and lightly – over mixing will create tough muffins.

Spoon into a greased muffin tray (I use Spray and Cook) and bake for 15 – 20 minutes.

Cool slightly before trying to turn out as they are very delicate.

About michoenglish87

A wannabe foodie who loves trying new recipes and trying new ingredients. I hope to inspire people to try new things in the kitchen.
This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fruity Orange Muffins

  1. Tandy says:

    I often end up not filling the entire muffin tray 🙂

  2. We are heading home next Wednesday to Sundays River – not far from Grahamstown. 🙂
    These muffins sound superb – is that oats you sprinkled over the top?
    🙂 Mandy

Leave a Reply

