Ginger Biscuits

Ginger biscuits

Ginger biscuits

After the sugar rush of the Chinese Chews I made last week, I felt that it was time to lighten things up. So, I decided to make a batch of biscuits from a book called Weight Watchers Entertains. I chose a ginger biscuit recipe, the kind that you roll into a log and then slice off as many as you need. The dough keeps in the fridge for up to 3 months.

Now, I’ve tried many biscuits of a similar nature and somehow I always seem to be disappointed by the result. This time I was just as nonplused. Don’t get me wrong, they’re a nice enough biscuit, but I suppose I was looking for some kind of wow factor. I guess I’m used to the overpowering ginger flavor found in bought biscuits.

These biscuits are subtle in flavour, and have grown on me throughout the week. They are vastly improved by sprinkling some ginger sugar over as soon as they come out of the oven. They make a nice light snack to have with tea.

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups of all purpose flour
¼ cup of whole-wheat flour
1 teaspoon of baking soda
2 teaspoons ground ginger]1/2 teaspoon of ground nutmeg
¼ teaspoon of salt
½ cup of softened butter
¾ of a cup of packed dark brown sugar
1 large egg
¾ cup of diced almonds

2 tablespoons of sugar
1 tablespoon of ground ginger

Method

1. Combine the all-purpose flour and whole-wheat flour, baking soda, ginger, nutmeg, and salt in a bowl and set aside.
2. With an electric mixer on high speed, beat the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the egg and beat well. Change to the dough hook on your mixer.
3. With the mixer on a low speed, stir in the flour and almonds till a soft dough forms.
4. Cut the dough in half. Roll each half into an 8 inch (20cm) log and wrap in cling film. Chill in the fridge for at least an hour.
5. Pre heat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius
6. Cut each log into 30 slices and place on a lined baking sheet.
7. Bake for 10 -12 minutes till golden
8. Mix the 2 tablespoons of sugar with the ginger and sprinkle over the biscuits while warm.

About michoenglish87

A wannabe foodie who loves trying new recipes and trying new ingredients. I hope to inspire people to try new things in the kitchen.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ginger Biscuits

  1. I love ginger biscuits especially with a cup of tea and the sprinkle of sugar over the top sounds like a nice touch.
    🙂 Mandy

Leave a Reply

