My favorite foodie quotes and sayings

There is a café in Hout Bay called La Cuccina, which has a delicious brunch every Sunday. They offer a wide range of dishes, from granola to pancakes, to a full English breakfast and more. One of the things that I love about this café is that they have blackboards all over the place with foodie sayings on them. I recently came across a couple of great sayings and so here are some of my favorites.

 

“A gourmet who thinks of calories is like a tart who looks at her watch”

James Beard

“There is no love sincerer than the love of food”

George Bernard Shaw

“After a good dinner, one can forgive anybody – even one’s own relations”

Oscar Wilde

I went into a McDonald’s yesterday and said, ‘I’d like some fries.’ The girl at the counter said, ‘Would you like some fries with that?’
Jay Leno

“You don’t have to cook fancy or complicated masterpieces – just good food from fresh ingredients.”
Julia Child

“Never eat more than you can lift.”
Miss Piggy

“Sharing food with another human being is an intimate act that should not be indulged in lightly.”
M. F. K. Fisher

“After all the trouble you go to, you get about as much actual “food” out of eating an artichoke as you would from licking 30 or 40 postage stamps.”

Miss Piggy

“Training is everything – cauliflower is nothing but cabbage with a
college education.”
Mark Twain

“Chop sticks are one of the reasons the Chinese never invented custard.”
Spike Milligan

“I cook with wine. Sometimes I even add it to the food.”
W.C. Fields

“And I find chopsticks frankly distressing. Am I alone in thinking it odd that a people ingenious enough to invent paper, gunpowder, kites and any number of other useful objects, and who have a noble history extending back 3,000 years haven’t yet worked out that a pair of knitting needles is no way to capture food?”

Bill Bryson

“The only time to eat diet food is while you’re waiting for the steak to cook.”

Julia Child

About michoenglish87

A wannabe foodie who loves trying new recipes and trying new ingredients. I hope to inspire people to try new things in the kitchen.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My favorite foodie quotes and sayings

  1. Lara says:

    I particularly like that last Julia Child one. Very appropriate I feel.

  2. Jaana says:

    This is absolutely my mantra when cooking

    “You don’t have to cook fancy or complicated masterpieces – just good food from fresh ingredients.”

    Julia Child

    I also added this quote to my http://www.Quotista.com quote collection 🙂 http://quotista.com/quote/1227

  3. Tandy says:

    I love these and took some photo’s of sayings when we were away. When I have time I am going to make them into badges for my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

