Spiced Apple Sour Cream Cake

Spiced Apple and Sour Cream Cake from the Sweet Life by Kate Zuckerman

I’ve heard it said that most people don’t make 90% of the recipes in the cookbooks they buy. That is probably true, and in my case, I often use them for inspiration and adapt to my own circumstances and ingredients. This book is inspiring, and I find I am making quite a few recipes from it. This weekend I decided to try one of the ones on my “to do list” – a spiced apple cake. Kate tends to explain her recipes in great detail as many pastry chefs do, which can make her recipes look daunting, but I found this cake relatively easy to do. Her hints and tips are useful. This cake makes use of sour cream, which makes a wonderfully moist cake with a great crumb.

Ingredients:

4 tart apples – I used Granny Smiths – you need about 500g

2 tablespoons of butter

2 tablespoons of sugar

For the cake:

125g butter at room temperature

1 cup packed light brown sugar

4 egg yolks – use the whites to make a pavlova

13/4 cups of flour

½ teaspoon baking powder

¾ teaspoon of bicarbonate of soda

½ teaspoon of salt – often important in sweet dishes too as it brings out flavors

½ teaspoon of allspice

½ teaspoon of cloves

1 teaspoon of cinnamon

¼ teaspoon of freshly grated nutmeg

½ a cup plus one tablespoon of sour cream

¼ of a cup of demerara sugar

An 8 inch or 20cm spring form cake tin

Preheat the oven to 180* c and grease your 20cm tin.

For the apples

Peel and core your apples and cut them into 1.5 cm chunks

Melt the butter in a pan and when bubbling add the apples. Cook for 1 min and add the 2 tablespoons of sugar. Cook for 5 min till they are soft but not mushy. Cool and drain off any liquid.

For the cake

Cream the butter and sugar till very fluffy, about 8 min in a stand mixer, scraping down occasionally. Add the egg yolks one at a time, beating well after each. In a separate bowl sift together all the dry ingredients, except the demerara sugar. Add half the dry ingredients to the butter mix and mix well. Add the ½ cup plus 1 tablespoon of sour cream. Mix well, and then add the last of the dry ingredients. With a spatula, fold in the apples (discard any juice that came out of them). Pour into prepared tin, and sprinkle with the remaining sugar – I miss read this step and only sprinkled over two tablespoons, so when it cooled I dusted it with icing sugar. Bake for 60 -70 minutes.

The cake sank quite a bit when I took it out the oven, and as there was no picture I was not sure what to expect. However, the cake was still light and deliciously moist, with a great mix of spices and soft apples. With four of us for tea, we devoured ¾ of a cake that should feed 10 easily!

About michoenglish87

A wannabe foodie who loves trying new recipes and trying new ingredients. I hope to inspire people to try new things in the kitchen.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spiced Apple Sour Cream Cake

  1. Mary says:

    This really sounds like a delicious cake. I’m new to your blog and have spent some time browsing through your earlier entries. I’m so glad I did. I really like the food and recipes you share with your readers. I’ll definitely be back. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  2. Tandy says:

    my cakes often sink in the middle!

Leave a Reply

