Sour Cream Cherry and Sultana Loaf

Cherry-loaf-002Well it’s a new year! Happy New Year everyone! Well 2012 seems to have vanished in a blinding flash; I mean where did it go? I was hoping to do more with my blog but did not get to it. So this year I am going to make an effort – even if I am tired after writing all day at work.

I make this loaf quite often. It’s easy to put together and although it takes a long time in the oven you can do other things meanwhile. It has a nice sharp tang that offsets the fruit just perfectly and makes it more interesting than a plain loaf. I find it easy to scoff a few slices with tea. However I have resisted the temptation as this loaf is for friends. Sorry about the poor picture – I was in a hurry so quickly snapped a shot (not my best) so much to do so little time.

I do hope you give this a go. I believe that the original recipe appeared in the Australian Women’s Weekly in September 1986 (eek the year before I was born).

Ingredients
125 g butter, very soft
¾ cup sour cream
1 cup castor sugar
2 tsp grated lemon rind
3 eggs
1 ½ cups of self raising flour
¾ cup plain flour
¼ cup of lemon juice
½ cup of glace cherries
½ cup of sultanas

Method

Preheat the oven to 170 °C  Fan forced 180 ° C regular

  1. Grease and line a 12cm by 22cm loaf tin with baking paper
  2. Beat together the butter, sour cream, castor sugar and lemon rind in an electric mixer till light and fluffy.
  3. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition
  4. Stir in the sifted dry ingredients alternately with the lemon juice.
  5. In a small bowl put the cherries and sultanas, add I tablespoon of flour and toss. (this stops the fruit sinking to the bottom of the loaf.
  6. Fold in the cherries and sultanas.
  7. Pour mixture into the lined tin and smooth top
  8. Bake in the preheated oven for 1 hour and 10 min or until an inserted skewer comes out clean.
  9. Stand in the tin for 5 min before turning onto a wire rack to cool.

Serve buttered or plain slices for tea.

About michoenglish87

A wannabe foodie who loves trying new recipes and trying new ingredients. I hope to inspire people to try new things in the kitchen.
This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sour Cream Cherry and Sultana Loaf

  1. irena078 says:

    That is Australian recipe?

Leave a Reply

