Time to revive the ol’ blog!

What can I say…its been a long time since I posted, I could make excuses work…blah blah too busy…blah blah, but the truth is I guess I have been lazy. I copy write for a living, so some days, the thought of spending any more time at the computer is torturous – I’d much rather be in the kitchen cooking. However i am going to endeavor to breathe some life bake into my poor neglected blog.

I’ve cooked many different things over the past year.

This week I made chocolate fruit bars. I make these quite often, under the delusion that they are healthy. In reality, I suspect that they are somewhat less healthy than I like tho think.

Ingredients

500g mixed dried fruit (I use 250g diced dried apricots, 100g dried cranberries, 100g cake mix dried fruit and 50g of chopped dates)

100g flaked almonds (toasted till golden)

125ml 1/2 cup rolled oats

125ml 1/2 cup sliced coconut

100g butter

125ml 1/2 cup brown sugar

125ml 1/2 cup of honey

200g dark chocolate

5ml oil

Method

Combine the fruit, almonds and oats in a bowl. In a saucepan on the stove combine the butter, sugar and honey. Stir gently till melted together. Stop stirring and bring to the boil. Simmer for 8 minutes, without stirring, till it reaches soft ball stage (or the consistency of toffee when cooled in some cold water). Pour over the fruit mix and mix well. Press into a 18 x 26com baking tray lined with grease proof paper. Allow to cool for about 4 hours till completely cold. Melt the chocolate in a bowl over boiling water. Add the oil and stir. Spread over the fruit mix and allow to cool (the fridge speeds up the process). When cool cut into squares. Depending on how you cut them you should get about 14 squares. Eat in small doses, they are very rich, but delicious.

About michoenglish87

A wannabe foodie who loves trying new recipes and trying new ingredients. I hope to inspire people to try new things in the kitchen.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Time to revive the ol’ blog!

  1. Lovely to see a post again, welcome back. :-) Mandy

Leave a Reply

