Jane Grigson’s Gingerbread – dark and sticky

Dark and sticky Gingerbread

Dark and sticky Gingerbread

Hi everyone, sorry I have not posted in a while. Work has literally taken over my life and the brief time when I am not working, I bake. Once that is done I’m knackered, and the thought of typing up a post has been a bit much. So here is a quick post on something I recently made.

This is a wonderful dark, sticky luscious gingerbread. Its one of the best I’ve had. I’ll try to post more regularly but will be away for a month at the end of October as I am hopefully going on a tour of Botswana and Zimbabwe. I hope you’ll give this a try, especially if you like gingerbread.

Ingredients
4 oz 125g butter
4 oz 125g Demerara sugar
2 eggs
10oz 300g black treacle – I used back strap molasses
8 oz 240g flour
1 teaspoon ground ginger (I added 2 as I like it really gingery)
I also added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon which is not in the original recipe
2 oz 60g sultanas – I left them out as I feel that sultanas have no place in gingerbread
2 oz 60g preserved ginger chopped
2 tablespoons of milk
½ a teaspoon of bicarbonate of soda

Method
Cream the butter, add the sugar and beat for a minute. Mix in the eggs and treacle. Sift in the flour, ground ginger and cinnamon. Add in the chopped ginger and sultanas if using.

Warm the milk slightly and add the bicarb, stir and pour into the batter. Mix well.

Pour into a 7inch cake tin lined with baking paper, or buttered and floured. Bake at 180 ° C for 1 ½ hours if you want it sticky. And 1 ¾ hours if you want it drier. If you take it out earlier it will often sink in the middle, but the stickiness more than makes up for it.

 

 

About michoenglish87

A wannabe foodie who loves trying new recipes and trying new ingredients. I hope to inspire people to try new things in the kitchen.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jane Grigson’s Gingerbread – dark and sticky

  1. This sounds awesome!
    Look forward to hearing about your Botswana and Zimbabwe trip (if you go).
    Have a happy week. :-) Mandy

Leave a Reply

