MasterChef Australia Souffle

Rhubarb Blackberry Crumble Souffle

Rhubarb Blackberry Crumble Souffle

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m an avid follower of the second season of Masterchef Australia. The other evening Gary Mehigan created a Rhubarb and Blackberry Crumble Soufflé that looked divine. I just happened to have a bunch of rhubarb in the fridge that was looking for a purpose. So lo and behold not ten minutes after the show ended I was attempting this soufflé.

Now bear in mind that I have only ever made one other soufflé in my life…. Well it started okay. I found the recipe on the Masterchef website. Downloaded it, then the printer died and so I had to write out the recipe. One thing I noticed was that the recipe on the internet had a different instruction as to how much sugar to add. I blithely decided to follow the internet version (which told me to add 75g of sugar whereas on the show Gary said 140g) as I like the tartness of rhubarb. I proceeded. My rhubarb was not as pink, but I made do. I also had no blackberries, but decided that raspberries would make an acceptable substitution. I also did not have the right size ramekins and decided to make one big soufflé and adjust the cooking time.

It all went perfectly, but the soufflé seemed to be cooked and browning on top rather too soon. I whipped it out as it was getting too dark. We tasted it but, in the middle it was cold and it was obvious that the heat had not even penetrated. I am not sure if this whipped egg white texture was how it was meant to be. It was a little insipid and I think that has to do with the lack of sugar and the quality of the Rhubarb. I’m not going to post the recipe as I think it is flawed. But you can find it here. I’ll post it later when I have come up with something I’m happy with. Any comments or suggestions would be welcome. As you can see it rose beautifully – it was just uncooked and had a weird texture. Maybe if I cooked it at a really low temperature in a bain marie it might help. I’m also going to use 140g of sugar like he said on the show.

About michoenglish87

A wannabe foodie who loves trying new recipes and trying new ingredients. I hope to inspire people to try new things in the kitchen.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to MasterChef Australia Souffle

  1. Tandy says:

    take a look at my blog for the best hints ever for cooking a souffle! They really work :)

    • thanks will do. Sorry it took so long to reply been a crazy week!

    • thanks will do. Sorry it took so long to reply been a crazy week!
      By the way do you have a recipe for cottage cheese icing rather than cream cheese. I’ve twice tried to make a direct substitution to make it healthy for Beverly, but each time its a mess so need a new recipe. it seems that you cannot beat it or it goes very runny. Let me know your thoughts! Keep well!

  2. Lara says:

    Also, Mike… surely if you had done it in smaller batches rather than one big one, the cooking through might not have been as much of a problem. I also saw the episode of Masterchef, btw… and somehow KNEW that you were going to be doing this recipe.

    • lol I made your mum watch it and we had left over rhubarb! Your mum also talked me into the big dish i was going to use mugs or the muffin tray. I’ll do them again sometime and get to the bottom of it. Your Mum is currently addicted to rocky road and my red velvet cupcakes – till she found out how fattening they were this evening! hope you doing good!

Leave a Reply

